General

GPS/GPRS/GSM Module V3.0 - GSM Module Won't Power

userHead ajprameswari 2015-05-04 05:56:58 5388 Views5 Replies
Hi, I am working on a project which uses both GSM and GPS and I am using the GPS/GPRS/GSM Module V3.0 on my Arduino Uno R3. I'm new to Arduino and this is my first time using GSM or GPS modules.

So, I read on the http://www.dfrobot.com/wiki/index.php/GPS/GPRS/GSM_Module_V3.0_%28SKU:TEL0051%29 that "It is recommended you to supply 7~12v power via the power jack. When using the GSM mode, the module requires an external power" thus I provide my Arduino with an external 9V/1A DC Power Adapter via its power jack.

But before that this is what happened :
1. I tried the How to drive the "GSM Mode via USB port" without using an external power, which is this one
Code: Select all
// Product name: GPS/GPRS/GSM Module V3.0
// # Product SKU : TEL0051
// # Version : 0.1

// # Description:
// # The sketch for driving the gsm mode via the USB interface

// # Steps:
// # 1. Turn the S1 switch to the Prog(right side)
// # 2. Turn the S2 switch to the USB side(left side)
// # 3. Set the UART select switch to middle one.
// # 4. Upload the sketch to the Arduino board(Make sure turn off other Serial monitor )
// # 5. Turn the S1 switch to the comm(left side)
// # 6. RST the board

// # wiki link- http://www.dfrobot.com/wiki/index.php/GPS/GPRS/GSM_Module_V3.0_(SKU:TEL0051)

void setup()
{
//Init the driver pins for GSM function
pinMode(3,OUTPUT);
pinMode(4,OUTPUT);
pinMode(5,OUTPUT);
//Output GSM Timing
digitalWrite(5,HIGH);
delay(1500);
digitalWrite(5,LOW);
}
void loop()
{
// Use these commands instead of the hardware switch 'UART select' in order to enable each mode
// If you want to use both GMS and GPS. enable the required one in your code and disable the other one for each access.
digitalWrite(3,LOW);//enable GSM TX、RX
digitalWrite(4,HIGH);//disable GPS TX、RX
}